Spitball Sparky

Release: February 7, 1984

Sales: <250, 000

Model Number: BU-201

Spitball Sparky is a Game & Watch game released as a part of the Super Color series on February 7, 1984. It was the first game in the Super Color series. It is a single-screen single-player Game & Watch. Hirokazu Tanaka composed the game music.

Spitball Sparky works similarly to Breakout, where a ball moves across the screen and is propelled by the player, blowing it upwards as long it is directly above the player in the purple space. If all blocks are eliminated fast enough, a bonus bar at the top would add 5 points per segment, the most being 20 points. Along the top row are red blocks, which require two hits to destroy. If the player eliminates all but the red blocks, and then hits each red block once to make them flash, it awards more bonus points.

Spitball Sparky was recreated in Game & Watch Gallery 3 for Game Boy Color.

In the Super Smash Bros. series, Mr. Game & Watch has an attack which has him blow opponents upwards, referencing Spitball Sparky.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.